Does Your Pet Run Your House

Published January 5, 2011 by jeaniel47

Did you know that there are approx 77.5 million dogs in the US?

Are you a dog lover? I am. I have had a dog almost all of my 55 years. At times they have been my best friend, listening to all of my worries, celebrating my successes and always excited to see me. A dog loves it’s master with no questions asked. My first dog was a chihuahua named Skippy. My uncle gave it to me when I was three and going for surgery. She was a good dog and used to ride on my trike with me for as long as I wanted her too. She unfortunately was hit by a car in the road. I remember my dad digging her grave and I placed her toys in the ground with her. Not long after that my parents decided I needed a replacement and we got Taffy. He was supposed to be a chihuahua also, but his mommy must have had other company, as he grew to about 40 lbs. He was a very smart dog and learned tricks easily. He and I went on many long walks in my adolescence. He howled all night long the night my dad died, just as if he understood the pain my mom and I were going through. Not long after that he disappeared and it was 6 months later when my mom screamed as he walked back into our yard. He had gunshot in his skin and was so thin that we almost didn’t recognize him. He lived to be 15, quite old for a dog. Dubuque was next a small, black poodle who loved to ride in the car sitting on my neck, so he could see where we were going. He was not happy at all when my husband moved in to share our apartment. It took him a while, put finally he came around and put up with my husband. When our kids were little I went to “look” at some cocker spaniels and came home with Mickey. He was a great companion to our kids and even learned how to sneeze on command. My husband thought I was nuts when I started to teach him that. When he got cancer and was in constant pain I had him put to sleep. The vet convinced me to come in the room and hold him. I will never forget the love in his eyes as he watched me with his last breath. I swear that is the hardest thing I have ever had to do and it still brings tears to my eyes as I write this. We then went for 5 years dogless. I didn’t ever want to go through that pain again, but still I missed the love and companionship, so when our son was leaving to serve in Iraq we got Trooper. He is a cocker spaniel also and the most unique dog I have ever had. He definitely has a mind of his own and does what he wants to, not what we want. Still he is probably the most loving dog I have ever had and again my life is complete.  If you are a dog lover you will understand what I am talking about. If you are not, I  feel sorry that you have never had the opportunity to know the love of a dog.

Have you ever searched your house to help your dog find the toy he has misplaced?

Leave a Reply

