Prisons and People’s Rights

Published January 27, 2011 by jeaniel47

OK, I will agree right up front that this is a controversial topic. My PERSONAL opinion is that when you go to jail, you have lost your rights to TV, cable, cell phones, pool tables, video games or any of the things that a normal American may struggle to afford. It just doesn’t make sense to me that we should pay for those items for someone who is in jail or prison.  I have no problem with helping them with an education to improve themselves.

 I personally know someone in jail who has said they prefer to stay there because they know they have a place to sleep and good food. Yes, that is sad, but that is their thought process.

If you are going to prison for committing a crime why should you not lose things that those of us who work hard, have to earn, not have it given to us?

OK, tell me how YOU feel. Am I looking at this wrong? I am always open to other’s opinions and believe that everyone has a right to their own opinions. I am just curious what everyone else thinks.

Leave a Reply

