The Government to Shut Down?

Published February 22, 2011 by jeaniel47

Ok, I will start this to say that I am not overly political. I am registered Independent and always try to vote for the person that I think will do the best job, whether they are Democratic or Republican. I have voted in every election since I was allowed to at the age of 18. I do think it is a right as a citizen of the United States and also a responsibility of each citizen.

Now my question is, there is rumor of the government having to shut down on March 4. The other rumor is the first things that will not be paid are Social Security and Veteran’s Benefits. These are the citizens that live on a fixed income, not large enough to put money away for a rainy day.  I would like to know why Congressional salaries are not the first to go. They are the ones in charge of our money and if there is not enough, they should not get paid. It is not the little person’s fault that they spend our money irresponsibly. We all have to make our salaries make ends meet, we have to follow a budget, why don’t they?

Another issue I have is why should they be allowed to decide what their pay raise should be? When was the last time you got to tell your employer what you wanted for a raise? I think this is a real flaw in the system. I am not sure who should decide, but it should not be them. We get raises based on how well we do our job. Shouldn’t they be held to the same standard as the people they work for?

I did look it up and they did not get a raise in 2010 or 2011… good for them, I think that was the right choice, considering how many people had to take a pay cut to keep the job they had, in the real world. According to the net, the average salary of a congressman is $174,000. I don’t know about you, but that is a lot of money to me. I will never see anything close to that kind of a salary in my life time.  If you take that times the number of congress men and women we are talking a lot of money. Yes, they make important decisions and it is, or used to be a job of honor, but I think we all need to be accountable for our country’s budget, not just the average citizens.

Leave a Reply

