Raising Kids

Published February 24, 2011 by jeaniel47

No one ever tells you that raising kids is the hardest thing you will ever do in your life.

Our daughter was born and she was the easiest baby ever. She was never sick, in fact in 13 years of school she never missed a day for illness. As a little girl you could give her a color book and colors and she would be happy for hours.

13 months later our son came along and all life changed. From the time he was six months old until he was 2 1/2 he had bronchitis or pneumonia every six weeks. I spent more time sleeping on the floor in his room than I did in my own bed. Luckily at 2 1/2 it just stopped, and the rest began….

He broke his arm in two places in school, while only in the first grade. It healed…and then he broke it again. He had five concussions, four of them in school. One so bad that he forgot how to talk. We were in the doctor’s office, where I took him anytime he hit his hit and he looked at me and said “Mom, it hurts soooo bad” and then he couldn’t talk. The fear in his eyes was one of the worst things I have ever seen in my life. After a night in the hospital he was OK, but doomed to migraine headaches for years after that. While at cub scouts he got up early and tried to help by chopping wood and instead hit his finger, that was the first case of stitches. He and a friend were playing sword fight with BBQ forks and he got jabbed in the hand, but didn’t tell mom. They didn’t want to get into trouble. When I finally got to see it, it was very infected, his hand red and swollen, another trip to the doctor. He and another friend were playing, building a fort when he called mom. I couldn’t understand a word he was saying. Finally I figured out it was him and he calmed down enough to say, “Oh Mom, I am so sorry, I just cut off my finger….” It only took us a matter of minutes to get to him, and luckily the finger was not cut off, but cut in the exact same spot as the last time. More stitches. One day a small boy from next door came to my house and said Adam needs you he fell off of his bike. Off mom goes again. He had wiped out good this time. He had a fracture in his elbow and actually broke the soft tissue in his hip bone, I had never heard of that one before.

I used to pray, please just let me get him raised until he is 18! I am happy to say that we survived the ordeal of raising kids and they are both strong, amazing adults. I do have to add that Adam joined the Army and when he called to say that he was going to try out for Airborne school I almost fainted. Why in the world would this accident prone kid want to jump out of airplanes!?!?!?! Well, of course he made it through the course and did jump out many times, surviving all of them. Better if mom didn’t know when he was going to jump!

I want to say again, raising kids is the hardest thing you will ever do and the most rewarding. There is nothing in the world like hearing someone call you “Mom.

Good luck to all of you who have already started this part of your life and all of you who are thinking about it. It is an amazing journey!

Leave a Reply

