Write a Letter

Published March 8, 2011 by jeaniel47

I wrote a little about this just the other day and have decided that I need to expand on it.

My dad wrote to me every day when I was a summer camp as a child. They were letters about nothing really, what he had done that day, how the garden was doing, how my dog was. All around the edges he would write little notes and draw little pictures. I still have those letters. He passed away when I was only 25 and those letters keep his memory fresh in my mind and always bring a smile to my face. They are a little faded, a little worn, but they are one of my most cherished possessions.  Amazing that something so simple can mean so much to me.

Have you ever written an actual letter to you child or grandchild. Not sent a birthday card with a message that someone else wrote for you, but a message from you, from your heart telling them how much you love them? Not an email, not a type written letter, but a hand written one… do you even remember how to write, we seem to do that so little anymore.

About twenty years ago I wrote a note to each of my children, yes it is hand written and no I don’t remember what I wrote, but I put them each in an envelope and put them in our safe for our kids to open someday when I am gone. They are a little piece of me that they will have after I am gone. Thinking about it, I should do it for them again and now for the grandchildren.

Again, I challenge each of you to write a letter to someone you love. On a child’s birthday write them a letter, tell them what you used to do as a child on your birthday, share part of your life with them.

Let’s start a campaign! Let’s make it happen! Write a letter!

2 comments on “Write a Letter

  • is there something that defines you as a person? something that you are proud of? I think even just talking about a day in your life…. My dad who has now been gone for 30 years, can you imagine what he would think of our world today – cell phones, internet, cable tv…. what we think is amazing today will seem so amateur in another 30 years…

    there are so many directions to go with this. I think you just have to go with your heart, what does it tell you?

  • Leave a Reply

