Elderly Parents… again

Published July 17, 2011 by jeaniel47

We had our annual family reunion today. My mom and her brothers and sisters are all in their 80’s now. It was awesome to talk with my other cousins and find they are having some of the same issues that I am having. It is getting harder and harder to watch our parents get older. I was glad to find that I am not the only one who feels just a little bit overwhlemed to have to take care of them. Don’t get me wrong, I love my mom with all my heartbut this is just not exactly what I expected for this time of my life. The kids are grown and on their own and I thought now would be the time for my husband and I to do what we want to. We moved home almost 12 years ago to help with my step father who had been striken with Alzheimer’s. Now my mom still lives at home, and will not hear of moving into a smaller place. She doesn’t like it if we go anywhere, she wants us three blocks away. I remember well when she was this age and she and her husband traveled all over and did what they wanted to, am I just to greedy to want a little bit of the same thing? Yes, I will continue to do what she wants and needs… I just want to vent once in a while

Leave a Reply

