My Fair Lady

Published September 3, 2011 by jeaniel47

When I was in high school I had a good friend who was more “privileged” than I was. The kids in their family took all of the lessons, piano, violin, flute, acrobats, and on and on. They went places and did things that I would never even dream of being able to do. Still I was never jealous. One time their parents invited me to go to the high school musical production of My Fair Lady. I had no idea what that was or what to expect. I had never gone to anything like that. My friend was playing the piano for the musical, so I sat with the parents and her brother and sister. I was mesmerized from the first moment. I remember just about everything about that show. I can tell you who played what parts. I remember all of the songs, the clothes they wore, it is embedded into my brain. Yes, It was just a high school production, but to me it was amazing. From that moment on, I loved musicals. I went to all of the high school productions after that, because that was all that was available to me. As I got older, married and kids came along, I did my best to expose my own children to some of that amazement, though they never seemed quite as excited as I had been.

About a month ago I received a brochure in the mail for the Gallagher Bluedorn, a performing arts center only about twenty miles away. I can tell you it literally took my breath away when I saw that there was going to be a performance of My Fair Lady. My brain raced, no my husband would not go with me, he hates musicals. I thought about who I might ask to go and then it was time to make supper. I put the brochure away and kind of forgot about it. After supper my phone rang and it was my daughter, which is not unusual as she calls several times a day. What was surprising was that she was excited about the brochure she had gotten in the mail. My Fair Lady was coming to town and she thought the two of us should go. I have to admit that I smiled to myself. First that she would think of me and know how much I would want to go to that show and second, that she wanted to go too. I am happy to say that I bought tickets yesterday and yes I will again get to experience the wonder of My Fair Lady!

As I was thinking about this, it made me realize how much other people influence our lives and who we become. I hope will all my heart that her parents knew how much having that experience meant to me and still does. Without them would I have ever experienced the joy of going to a musical? I don’t know, but I thank them with for helping to make me who I am.

Leave a Reply

