Enter the 21st Century

Published March 11, 2012 by jeaniel47

Yes, it has only been a short time ago that I got an Android. I am getting used to it and last weekend we were in town and Ron asked – will that thing show us how to get somewhere? Well, I do admit it took me a few minutes to figure it out, but soon we were on our way. Ron says – well if I knew it was on Broadway I coulda gotten here. Gotta love husbands! Yesterday Abby gave me her old Garmin and the old folks again attempted some new technology. Had it all ready to go, address typed in but there was no sound. Yes, I admit I called Abby and asked her how to make it so I could hear the directions. Well, we got where we were going, even though we already knew how to get there, we patiently listened for the step by step directions. Funny if we had followed it completely we would have driven into the lake, not our lot.

As I thought about this yesterday I found myself thinking about my dad. He passed away in 1980 and at that time we had 3 channels on our TV and we had never heard of a remote. What would he think if he found a phone that I could write messages on to others, listen to music, go to the internet (I can hear him – what the hell is that????). Then on top of all of that put a little thing on thewindshield and it will give you step by step directions. I can’t imagine what he would think of where we have come in such a short time. We take all of this for granted now, can’t imagine living without it, still I remember the days that we did. I can still read a map and get us where we are going. I can remember a rotary phone and party lines, where you picked up the phone and if someone on your party was already talking, you could be very quiet and listen to everything that they had to say, and you thought tracking a phone message was interesting! Well everyone Happy 21st Century, old grandma and grandpa Larson are here, whether we want to be or not.

Leave a Reply

