Book Synopsis

Published October 18, 2012 by jeaniel47

I freely admit that I hate writing a synopsis of my books. Once I write the last word, I want to be done. Yes, I go back and spell check and all of that stuff that I dislike, but know I need to do. In my heart and mind I am just ready to move on to the next story.

It is probably a good thing that I do not have an agent or editor, because making changes would drive me nuts.

Then finally I work on the synopsis. How do I tell you enough to get you interested, but not tell you the entire story. I do not tell you everything that will happen on purpose. There is nothing that I hate more as a reader when an author tells me the entire story. There is no surprise left. Nothing to look forward to when you have already told me how it will end.

I find as a reader, I will never read the entire synopsis, afraid that you are going to tell me more than I want to know. I like the story to unfold. I like the suspense of not knowing what is going to happen. If you are going to tell me the entire story, why should I waste my time reading it?

If you are an author I would love to know how you handle this.

If you are a reader, let me know if you agree or disagree with me.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

