Daddy you just wouldn’t believe it!

Published October 23, 2012 by jeaniel47

My dad passed away in 1980 when I was only 25. He didn’t get to meet my husband, my children or my grandchildren. He would have smiled from ear to ear to have met them.

Today we were driving by some new wind towers being erected and it made me think, my dad never saw…

One of the massive wind towers that now speckled the fields of Iowa

A cell phone

GPS

Cable TV

A remote control for a TV

100 channels to choose from (damn, we had 3 channels and there was always something to watch, now we have a hard time)

He never had a snow blower (the three of us each had a shovel to clean the driveway in the winter)

He never owned a brand new car (I learned to drive on the first “automatic” he ever owned…it has push buttons to change the transmission)

Ne never saw a refrigerator that made ice in the door, instead of hand making it in trays

He never saw a landline phone without a cord (we had a party line and had to share the usage of the phone)

No VCR, DVD or CDs

He never had central air

He did have lots of fresh vegetables out of his garden

He worked hard every day of his life

He could let me go and play and didn’t have to worry if I was safe or not

He was married to the same woman for over thirty years

He displayed the American flag proudly and always voted in every election

I was eight years old when he told me he had paid off a medical bill for a surgery I had when I was three

He paid the dentist $80 dollars when I was sixteen for a root canal. It was his whole weeks pay check.

He dug a hole by hand when my dog died and marked the grave for me

He called me his “capin, after Kaptain Kangaroo

He taught me to drive when I asked

I was his only child….I was loved…I miss him….

Leave a Reply

